Istanbul Innovation Days 2021: “Development & Its Futures”

An event not about what development is, but what it could be

Istanbul Innovation Days 2021 is an eight week programme. Between 22 February and 20 April, there will be a series of interactive experiences, hosted by the UNDP and partners from different locations around the world. The Main Event takes place from 23-25 March.

The theme of IID 2021 is ‘Development and its futures.‘  In focusing on the plurality – the futures–  IID 2021 will engage edge thinkers and doers to discover and accelerate paths to alternative development futures.

Participation is open to everyone and the format of IID puts you in control of whether you want to join one, several, or all sessions.  Tickets are free but we do ask that you register in advance. Sessions for details.

Preamble

The COVID pandemic has triggered, among others, a radical rethink of  development – both as a paradigm and of the sector itself. The last few months has seen those proclaiming the end of multilateralism and questioning the relevance of the SDGs on the one hand and those calling for embracing the post growth pathways and re-imagining global institutions on the other.  All of this in the midst of renewed questions about democracy, race and inequality.

Given the radical questions that the pandemic has raised, the IID2021 will explore these questions with the objective of unlocking new pathways.  To do this, we need to address the legacies of our past, explore the edges of the present, and accelerate the progress towards a plurality of futures. Thus IID2021 is structured around 3 “moves”:

A Tale of Three Moves

Programme Segments

There are four segments (or conversation formats) of events across the programme of IID:

Alternate Reality Simulations exploring alternative futures for key cities in different regions around the world, run in partnership with Arizona State University and involving participants from government and civil society as well as the public and private sectors. (03 Mar, 10 Mar)

Regional Conversations  where challenges and opportunities resonating particularly strongly are explored (22 Feb, 01 Mar, 08 Mar)

Future Framing Sessions  facilitated in partnership with EY, where shifts in our relationships with the economy, the future, and technology are explored (16-18 Mar)

The above conversations will feed into the Main Event, taking place over the 48 hour period from 23-25 March (with several others continuing after). The main event will include both large, auditorium style, panel discussions as well as smaller working sessions, running concurrently, along the key three moves of IID.

Agenda

Participation is open to everyone and the format of IID puts you in control of whether you want to join one, several, or all sessions.  Tickets are free but we do ask that you register in advance. See individual sessions for details.

22/02/2021
07:00 EST
13:00 CET
15:00 Istanbul
RBEC: Urban Shifts – Transformations and Their Narratives
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Achim Steiner H.E. Mr. Aureliu Ciocoi Josianne Cutajar Kirsten Dunlop Edin Forto Fatma Sahin Mirjana Spoljaric Egger

Facilitator

Shada Islam
01/03/2021
07:00 EST
13:00 CET
19:00 Bangkok
Asia and Pacific (RBAP): The Future of Digital Transformation
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Achim Steiner Dr. Anna Roy Sushant Kumar Deepali Khanna Dr. Jemilah Mahmood Kanni Wignaraja Mira Tayyiba Dr. Alethea de Guzman

Facilitator

Dr. Jemilah Mahmood
08/03/2021
07:00 EST
13:00 CET
14:00 EET
Regional Bureau for Arab States (RBAS): Compounded Crisis: Adapting Through Innovation
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Achim Steiner Dr. Khalida Bouzar Maciej Popowski HE Dr. Maya Morsy Basma Saeed

Facilitator

Benjamin Kumpf
15/03/2021
13:00-16:00 CET
08:00-11:00 EDT
Khartoum: City Based Alternate Reality Simulation (Movement 3, Prototyping Futures)
Virtual ● Webinar
16/03/2021
15:00-17:00 CET
10:00-12:00 EDT
Future Framing Session powered by EY – Berlin explores Green Economies & Innovation
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Achim Steiner Jochen Flasbarth Martin Jäger Beata Javorcik Veronica Scotti Mirjana Spoljaric Egger Alan Laubsch Dr.-Ing. Stephan Ramesohl Sofija Getova Ena Utevska

Facilitator

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Lorentz Nadim Choucair
16/03/2021
13:00-16:00 CET
08:00-11:00 EDT
Harare: City Based Alternate Reality Simulation (Movement 3, Prototyping Futures)
Virtual ● Webinar
17/03/2021
12:00-14:00 CET
07:00-09:00 EDT
15:00-17:00 GST
Future Framing Session powered by EY – Dubai explores the Future of Knowledge
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Julie Linn Teigland Khaled Abdel Shafi H.E. Jamal bin Huwaireb Leif Edvinsson Dr. Nisreen Lahham Tariq Al-Olaimy Ali Muntasir Nada Dimachkieh Sweidan

Facilitator

Joumana Saad
17/03/2021
11:30-14:30 CET
06:30 - 09:30 EDT
Hanoi: City Based Alternate Reality Simulation (Movement 3, Prototyping Futures)
Virtual ● Webinar
10:30-13:30 CET
05:30 - 08:30 EDT
17/03/2021
Bangkok: City Based Alternate Reality Simulation (Movement 3, Prototyping Futures)
Virtual ● Webinar
13:00-16:00 CET
08:00-11:00 EDT
17/03/2021
Beirut: City Based Alternate Reality Simulation (Movement 3, Prototyping Futures)
Virtual ● Webinar
18/03/2021
13:00-16:00 CET
08:00-11:00 EDT
Yerevan: City Based Alternate Reality Simulation (Movement 3, Prototyping Futures)
Virtual ● Webinar
17:00-20:00 CET
12:00-15:00 EDT
18/03/2021
Mexico City: City Based Alternate Reality Simulation (Movement 3, Prototyping Futures)
Virtual ● Webinar
18/03/2021
20:00-22:00 CET
15:00-17:00 EDT
Future Framing Sessions powered by EY – San Francisco explores Technology Partnerships
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Tom Chi Philip Thigo Tia Kansara Sarah Sclarsic Paola Santana Kevin Starr Abeer Tahlak Shamiso Ruzvidzo David Sengeh Hema Annamalai

Facilitator

Adlai Goldberg Pascal Finette Robert Opp
23/03/2021
8:00 - 9:15 EDT
13:00 - 14:15 CET
Opening Session : « Development and Its Futures »
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Achim Steiner Faruk Kaymakci Sophie Howe Roman Krznaric Marcela Sabino Nanjira Sambuli
10:30am-11.45 EDT
15:30 - 16:45 CET
23/03/2021
From social movements to shifting power dynamics – lessons from the trenches on how change happens’ - a conversation with Alaa Salah & Alicia Garza
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Alicia Garza Alaa Salah
24/03/2021
8:00 - 9:15 CET
03:00 - 04:15 EDT
Movement 1: « Questioning Identity and the past » (plenary)
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Katie Bunten Wamaru Payal Arora Danny Sriskandarajah David Sengeh Yanuar Nugroho

Facilitator

Giulio Quaggiotto
9:15 - 10:30 CET
04:15 - 05:30 EDT
24/03/2021
Movement 1: « Questioning Identity and the past » – Session 1 « Paradigm Lock-ins : Examining how language, as a career of culture and information, generates biases and barriers or unlocks our abilities to explore alternative development paths »
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Nahum
9:15 - 10:30 CET
04:15 - 05:30 EDT
24/03/2021
Movement 1: « Questioning Identity and the past » – Session 2 « Paradigm Lock-in: What after the WESTERN model of development? »
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Hannah Muthoni Ryder Karl Hapal Pyrou Chung Emily Jacobi

Facilitator

Gina Lucarelli
9:15 - 10:30 CET
04:15 - 05:30 EDT
24/03/2021
Movement 1: « Questioning Identity and the past » – Session 3 « Paradigm lock-in: Encoding inequalities in our INFRASTRUCTURES – built & digital world »
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Araceli Camargo Nausheen Anwar Mona Fawaz Astha Kapoor

Facilitator

Celine Moyroud
11:00 - 12:15 CET
06:00 - 07:15 EDT
24/03/2021
Movement 2: « Vibrations in the Present » (plenary)
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Kate Raworth Yvonne Aki Sawyerr Daniel Gomez Gaviria Martin Burt

Facilitator

George Ronald Gray Molina
12:15-13.30 CET
07:15-08.30 EDT
24/03/2021
Movement 2:« Vibrations in the Present » – Session 1 « Rethinking existing economic models »
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Caroline Dama Michele D’Alena Yudhanjaya Wijeratne Nadia El-Imam

Facilitator

Georges van Montfort
12:15-13.30 CET
07:15-08.30 EDT
24/03/2021
Movement 2: « Vibrations in the Present » – Session 2 « Rethinking the relationship with technology »
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Sanjay Purohit Paula Ingabire Tomas Diez Su Kahumbu Stephanou

Facilitator

Margunn Indreboe
12:15-13.30 CET
07:15-08.30 EDT
24/03/2021
Movement 2: « Vibrations in the Present » – Session 3 «Rethinking Economic Models: the curious case of the Maricá>>
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Igor Sardinha

Facilitator

Daniela Lima
15:00 - 16:15 CET
10:00 - 11:15 EDT
24/03/2021
Movement 2: « Vibrations in the Present » – Session 4 « Rethinking our relationship with nature »
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Gregory Landua Regi Wahyu Xiaowei Wang Natsai Audrey Chieza

Facilitator

Renaud Meyer
15:00 - 16:15 CET
10:00 - 11:15 EDT
24/03/2021
Movement 2: << Vibrations in the Present >> Session 5 << Guatemala City Reimagined: cities re-think relationship with nature and technology>>
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Claudia Pasquero Marco Poletto
16:30 - 17:45 CET
11:30 - 12:45 EDT
24/03/2021
Movement 3: « Accelerating progress towards different futures » (plenary)
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Sushma Raman Anab Jain Erin Coughlan Mallika Auplish

Facilitator

Aarathi Krishnan
17:45 - 19:15 CET
12:45-14:15 EDT
24/03/2021
Movement 3: « Accelerating progress towards different futures » – Session 1 « Modelling for interconnected & transboundary risks»
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Sha Xin Wei Sander van der Leeuw Ida Uusikyla

Facilitator

Dmitry Mariyasin
17:45 - 19:15 CET
12:45-14:15 EDT
24/03/2021
Movement 3: « Accelerating progress towards different futures » – Session 2 « Awareness based collective action»
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Melanie Goodchild Otto Scharmer Pedro Conceicao

Facilitator

Laurel Patterson
26/03/2021
15:00 - 17:00 CET
10:00 - 12:00 EDT
UNDP Plenary (Internal): « Development and Its Futures, accelerating change »
Virtual ● Webinar
31/03/2021
4pm Bangkok
11am CET
5am EDT
The New Levers of State Power
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Jaideep Prabhu Angela Lusigi Stephan Klingebiel
05/05/2021
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM EST
Regional Conversation on Inclusive Digitalization in Latin America and the Caribbean
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Achim Steiner Sylvia Constain Mauricio Agudelo Silvina Moschini Angel Melguizo

Facilitator

Claudio Tomasi
26/04/2021
09:00 - 10.15 AM EST
RBA: Regional Conversation
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Achim Steiner Ahunna Eziankowa Ursula Owusu-Ekuful Wamkele Mene Natalie Jabangwe Iriya Ndeshithigilwa Jona Vidal Kenmoe
13/04/2021
10:00 EDT
16:00 Jo'burg
Innovation in the informal economy – what do policymakers need to know?
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Erika Kraemer-Mbula Aissata De Georges Van Montfort Mansour Ndiaye
22/04/2021
15:00 CET
Project Witness: simulating alternate economic models through science fiction
Virtual ● Webinar

Panel list

Nadia El Imam Yudhanjaya Wijeratne

Facilitator

Giulio Quaggiotto